The Default Session


SecureCRT maintains an internal session that is used whenever a new session is being created or when a session has not been specified for a connection. This internal session is known as the "Default" session. For example, when using Quick Connect or when starting SecureCRT from the command line with no session argument, SecureCRT uses the settings specified in the Default session to make the connection requested.

To access the Default session configuration, open the Options menu and select Configure/Default Session. The Default session opens in a Session Options dialog populated with the Default session values.

In this dialog, you can customize the settings in any category. When you have finished making your changes, click on the OK button and the Apply default session changes dialog is displayed.

The Apply default session changes dialog allows you to choose between Change the Default session only (this is the same behavior provided by the No option in previous versions) and Change ALL sessions (no undo) (this is the same behavior provided by the Yes option in previous versions). The dialog also includes a WARNING that there is no UNDO for this change.

Note: ONLY the change(s) that have been made are applied when you choose the option to Change ALL sessions.

In order for a "change" to be applied to all other sessions, the Default session's option/field that you're targeting must actually be modified/different from its current value. This means that if the targeted field you want to apply to all other sessions is already set to the value you want, you must first change it to something different (and apply that "change") and then edit the Default session again to set the option to its desired value (and apply that "change").